Marriage is the triumph of imagination over intelligence

Speech at my best friend’s wedding –

This year, Amanda and I celebrate our tenth year of friendship. I’m beyond delight to have the opportunity to walk with her on this very important day. When I first knew about CW and Amanda’s engagement, to say I was merely happy was an understatement. It was also a moment of reflection for me, to know that the 17 yr old girl I once knew is going to embark on a new chapter in her life – to become a wife, and someday a mother.
 
The union of these two wonderful people is actually a really fascinating one, because they are so alike yet different at the same time. Both of them are very grounded, level-headed individuals, who I was told enjoy making lists and schedules together.  What is truly complimentary is that while Amanda brings the creativity into the relationship, CW completes the equation with his steadfastness. It warms my heart to know that the pair of them have sailed thru many difficult moments. Both of them have grown to admire their similarities and embrace their unique differences. Today, they are ready to come together to share the rest of their lives and all of us are here glow in their blissful happiness. 
 
I would like to share with all of you one of my favorite quotes from Oscar Wilde. He says Marriage is the triumph of imagination over intelligence. 
 
If indeed so, then from this point forth, I wish for the both of you, that your marriage would be an adventure beyond your wildest imagination. May all of your coming days together be always filled with the inspiration of your love for each other. Congratulations. 

(she cried)

0230

 

Leave a Reply

